Do I have to pay for a copy of my medical records?
Most of the time, yes. Some doctors and hospitals will provide you with free copies, but most of the time, you will be charged. Federal law says the cost should be “reasonable” but does not say exactly what that cost should be.
Regarding records from doctors, in Texas, the fees for physician records are set by the Texas Board of Medical Examiners.
On paper , the fee can be no more than $25 for the first twenty pages, and $.50 per page for every page after the first twenty.
For electronic format, the fee should be no more than $25 for the 500 pages or less, and $50 for more than 500 pages.
In Texas, the charges are as follows for written records (plus cost of shipping):
- 1 to 10 pages – $45.02
- 11 to 60 pages – $1.51 per page
- 61 to 400 pages – $0.75 per page
- More than 400 pages – $0.40 per page
If the records are on electronic format, a fee of $81.57, plus cost of shipping.
The charges may be slightly different if they records are on microfiche.